Bridesmaids Brunch

I had to channel Martha Stewart in order to properly host a bridesmaid brunch for one of my most favourite people in the world – my sister (aka Lil Sistore).  Despite a significant age difference she is one of my best friends and I was incredibly touched when she asked me to be her MOH (Maid of Honour).  Lil Sistore is a fun, funny, sensitive person and often the comedian of family get togethers.   She is fiercely independent but ready to step in to help anyone in her circle who needs something.  However, the thought of asking someone to do something for her gives her heart palpitations.  So as MOH I hosted a brunch for the bridesmaids and the mothers in order to talk dresses, hair, makeup, decor and a trip to Vegas.  Fortunately for Lil Sistore, I love to entertain.  Unfortunately for Lil Sistore, I struggle with DIY projects (Lil Sistore got the craft genes) but I was determined to host a yummy brunch with pretty, decorative touches.

After hours perusing Martha Stewart Weddings for decor inspiration and the LCBO for food and drink inspiration.  I filled dollar store vases with arrangements of white roses, lilies, hydrangeas and evergreen branches and tied each vase with a ribbon and a tag for either a bridesmaid, mother of the bride or mother of the groom.  Lil Sistore gave each guest a flower arrangement upon leaving.

The buffet menu included:

Antipasto platter

Fennel, orange and pomegranate salad

Roasted asparagus drizzled with a dill and yogurt sauce

Crab salad

Maple bacon

Frittata

Johnny cake

Stacked mini pancakes

Butter rolls

Fruit salad

Cookies and squares

I think we managed to have a lovely day and plans were made, but in the end, what mattered most was the company of good friends and the laughter that we all enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

